Dr. James Smith Elected School Board Chair

The Kershaw County School Board held the statutory or organizational meeting Tuesday morning to elect officers  for the coming year.  Dr. James Smith was elected board chair with a unanimous vote.  Shirley Halley was elected vice-chair and Derrick Procter was elected board chaplain.  Both Halley and Procter were also elected with unanimous votes.  The board also approved a schedule of meetings for the year.